Home     Services    Go Native!  Before & After  Elders' Facilities  Links   Events   Emergency ##s   Herstory   About Lisa

Giardino Della Vita
Birds     Gardens    Humans    Wildlife     Emergency Numbers


See Lisa here:  Biking Ballona http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embeed&v=Zotgp4Z_CiE

Restoring Southern California's Wetlands:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0nGYnpWs-uU&feature=player_embeded

Swallows Swooping http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNJXAftDCNI&feature=player_embeed

Warren Olney Inerview on KPCC NPR Radio http://www.kcrw.com/news/programs/ww/ww130530can_los_angeles_city



Audubon California: http://www.audubon-ca.org/

Audubon Los Angeles:  http://losangelesaudubon.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=257&Itemid=83

Audubon Center at Debs Park:  http://www.audubon-ca.org/debs_park.htm

Beldings Savannah Sparrow: http://www.socalwild.com/2013/08/home-on-the-pickleweek-the-beldings-savannah-sparrow/1103/

California Coastal Conservancy:  http://www.coastalconservancy.ca.gov/

Christmas Bird Count (CBC):  http://www.audubon.org/bird/cbc/

Cooper Ecological Monitoring:  http://www.cooperecological.com/

Department of Fish and Game (DFG):  http://www.dfg.ca.gov/

Friends of the Kern River Preserve:  http://kern.audubon.org/friends.htm

Great Backyard Bird Count (GBBC):  http://www.birdsource.org/gbbc/

Judith Larner Lowry on birds

Los Angeles Audubon Society:  http://www.laaudubon.org/

International Bird Rescue & Research Center (IBRRC):  http://www.ibrrc.org/so_cal_center.html

International Migratory Bird Day:  http://www.birdday.org/

Palos Verdes/South Bay Audubon Society:  http://www.lmconsult.com/pvaudubon/index-f.html

Parrot Press:  http://parrotpress.org/Welcome.html 

Pasadena Audubon Society:  http://www.pasadenaaudubon.org/

San Fernando Audubon Society:  http://www.sfvaudubon.org/

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Society:  http://home.att.net/~cgbraggjr/

SONGBIRD JOURNEYS: http://www.songbirdjourneys.com/

South Bay Wildlife Rehab (SBWR):  http://www.sbwr.org/

Starr Ranch Sanctuary:  http://www.starrranch.org/

White House weighs in on birds White House News

Wild Birds Unlimited:  http://www.wbutorrance.com/

Books and Articles

Article on the brilliance of Rachel Carson  

Learn how to speak bird:  Songbird Journeys

On disappearing birds Audubon Press Release, June 2007

State of Birds


Consider this book:
Bringing Nature Home: How Native Plants Sustain Wildlife in Our Gardens
Douglas Tallamy 

It is the BLUEPRINT for any serious native plant gardener.  Available at Theodore Payne and Amazon

Tallamy really explores the vital link between native plants and insects, and the wildlife (birds) they support together... he backs all his claims with science, incredible statistics that are very enlightening.  This book represents a turning point for me, both personally and professionally, as a master gardener.  

I don't think I'll ever look at an insect the same again!  Lisa  :)

and two books by Judith Larner Lowry,
one of my heroines of nature:

Gardening with a Wild Heart:  Restoring California's Native Landscapes at Home 2007



The Landscaping Ideas of Jays, 2007


Audubon at Home:  http://www.audubon.org/bird/at_home/

Avian Aquatics:  http://www.avianaquatics.com/

Be Water Wise:  http://www.bewaterwise.com/

BugGuide.Net  http://bugguide.net/node/view/15740

California Native Plant Society:  http://www.cnps.org/

Central Basin Municipal Water District:  http://www.centralbasin.org/

Common Ground Garden Program:  http://celosangeles.ucdavis.edu/Common_Ground_Garden_Program/

GARDENING FOR LIFE by Douglas Tallamy


Greenlee Nursery:  http://www.greenleenursery.com/main.htm

LA Coastal Prairie:  http://www.lacoastalprairie.org/

Marina Garden Center:  http://marinagardencenter.com/

Master Gardener Program:  http://camastergardeners.ucdavis.edu/

Native Plants in the Wild and in Your Garden:  http://www.ci.torrance.ca.us/Parks/6640.htm

National Wildlife Federation Certified Wildlife Habitat Program:  https://secure.nwf.org/backyard/certify.cfm

Sierra Pacific Designs:  http://www.sierrapacificdesign.com/

Theodore Payne Foundation:  http://www.theodorepayne.org/

Tree of Life Nursery:  http://www.treeoflifenursery.com/

TreePeople:  http://www.treepeople.org/



Peers Influence Peers Partnership:  http://www.peerspartnership.org/

Irena Sendler http://www.irenasendler.org/team.asp



Ballona Creek Renaissance:  http://www.ballonacreek.org/



Ken Malloy Harbor Regional Park:  http://www.utopianature.com/kmhrp/home.html

Friends of Baldwin Hills:  http://www.fotbh.org/BallonaCreektothePacific.html

Friends of Ballona Wetlands:  http://www.ballonafriends.org/

Friends of the LA River: http://www.folar.org/

Friends of the Santa Clara River:  http://www.fscr.org/

Heal the Bay:  http://www.healthebay.org/

Friends of Madrona Marsh:  http://www.friendsofmadronamarsh.com/

Madrona Marsh Nature Center:  http://www.ci.torrance.ca.us/Parks/6618.htm

Palos Verdes Peninsula Land Conservancy


Santa Monica Baykeeper:  http://www.smbaykeeper.org/index.php

Santa Monica Bay Restoration Commission


The Nature Conservancy:  http://www.nature.org/

The River Project:  http://www.theriverproject.org/about.html

Trust for Public Land:  http://www.tpl.org/




Learn how to speak bird: 
Songbird Journeys


“I hope you love birds, too.  It is economical.  It saves going to Heaven.”  Emily Dickinson

“Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better.”  Albert Einstein

“Until one has loved an animal, part of one's soul remains unawakened.”  Anatole France

“You can judge the greatness of a nation by how it treats its animals.”  Ghandi

“Hold fast to dreams, for if dreams die, life is a broken winged bird that cannot fly.”  Langston Hughes

“Thousands of tired, nerve-shaken, over-civilized people are beginning to find out that going to the mountains is going home: that wildness is a necessity.”  John Muir

“Happiness is not a state to arrive at, but a manner of traveling.”  Margaret Lee Runbeck

“Luck is a matter of preparation meeting opportunity.”  Oprah Winfrey

“Hope is like a road in the country; there was never a road, but when many people walk on it, the road comes into existence.”  Lin Yutang


The River Project:  http://www.theriverproject.


Trust for Public Land http://www.tpl.org/







top .